ATEX Certification stands for atmosphères explosibles. It’s a European Union directive from the European Committee for Standardization that covers “equipment and protective systems intended for use in potentially explosive atmospheres.” An atmosphere can be explosive for several reasons, including flammable gases, mists or vapors, or combustible dust.

All equipment and protective systems intended for this type of use in the EU must meet ATEX health and safety requirements. In this way, the directive is similar to an OSHA or NEC standard in the United States.

Equipment manufacturers whose products are intended to be used in Europe are responsible for making sure their equipment complies with ATEX standards. This process involves conformity assessment procedures and certification by a third party called a “Notified Body.” Certified equipment is marked with the symbol shown below.

All companies that manufacture electrical equipment intended for use in hazardous environments must obtain ATEX certification. The ATEX directive aims to facilitate the free movement of goods across the European Union by harmonizing procedures. The ATEX directive can also be known as European Directive 2014/34/EU. There are four areas that must be met in order to obtain ATEX certification:

  • The CE Mark
  • Safety and health requirements
  • EC Type exam certificate
  • Quality Assessment
  • Safeopedia explains ATEX Certification

An organization must comply with the following requirements to receive ATEX certification:

CE Mark – This is a self-declaration that indicates that the equipment meets technical requirements and ATEX standards.

Safety and health requirements must be met. The principles of integrated explosion safety should be observed from all sources, electrical and not.

EC Type Exam Certificate – A notified body must verify that equipment meets all applicable provisions for Category 1 and 2.

Quality Assessment – All equipment production facilities must pass a quality assessment

Products that have received ATEX certification will have the official “Ex” badge, indicating they are safe in explosive atmospheres.

Non-ATEX/IECEx safe computing devices used in hazardous areas could be an ignition source, so it is critical that ATEX/IECEx certified computing devices are used in those areas. If they are not, the situation immediately poses a great risk to workers’ safety. That’s why we’ve built rugged computing devices that are ATEX/IECEx certified.